Tuesday, March 16, 2010

It's A Good Thing Dawdling Is An Essential Part Of The Writing Process

Because otherwise I might not have checked my emails and found the one from my editor, quoting a very favorable review of This World We Live In in School Library Journal.

The majority of the review is a summation of the plot, so I'll spare you all that. But there isn't a single "but" in the entire review (always a relief).

My editor highlighted the last part of the review:

It is a testament to the author's skills that This World We Live In can be read as a stand-alone novel. In fact, new readers might not even realize that the earlier titles exist. Fans of Miranda and Alex, however, will keep this installment flying off the shelves, and the ambiguous ending will make them clamor for a fourth book.

All right. All you fans of Miranda and Alex can go clamor away. I, on the other hand, had best go back to writing Blood Wounds. Or at least doing some essential dawdling!

10 comments:

Anonymous said...

If we clamor loud enough for a fourth book, will we get one?

Glen

Susan Beth Pfeffer said...

Hi Glen-

You're Anonymous again.

Fess up. You don't really want a fourth book. You just like the sound of your own clamor!

Fear Death By Water said...

clamor!
clamor!
clamor!
clamor!
clamor!
clamor!
clamor!
clamor!
clamor!

Susan Beth Pfeffer said...

Hi Fear Death By Water-

dawdle!
dawdle!
dawdle!
dawdle!

Chris said...

Although I am still impatiently waiting for my local Chapters to stock TWWLI, I'm going to have to join in on this recent clamoring for a 4th book.

Clamor!
Clamor!
Clamor!

Jon said...

I though TW was being released April first? My copy came today. Confused.

Jon
P.S. Oh, clamor clamor clamor clamor (i really want that fourth book)

Susan Beth Pfeffer said...

Hello to Chris and Jon (a pair of nice, easy to spell names)-

It seems to me you're both clamoring before you've even read This World We Live In.

Premature clamoring can be very bad for your health!

Anonymous said...

Your blog says it doesn't come out for fifteen days, but I got it today. Was I not supposed to have it yet?

Anna

Elaine Marie Alphin said...

I've read all three (multiple times now!) so can I clamor? I know you're finished with Miranda's trilogy, but if you ever feel like coming back to it... Well, you know we'll all be there ready to read it! Meantime, we'll settle for Blood Wounds - and you will get past the dawdling in time.

Anonymous said...

I want a fourth book! clamor clamor clamor!
The series is great, but feels (to me) incomplete. There is still a much bigger story to tell. You can't set up a story tall stilts. You can't just leave it there! please write a fourth book! :)